World Snooker ranking is not much different from the rating in other sports. In general, this is a method of ranking professional snooker players. Those players who are at the top of the rankings, as a rule, immediately placed in the final part of various competitions. But the players with a low rating are required to take place in the final round of the tournament through qualification. Thus, the higher-ranked player is of great importance and is considered to be more powerful.

However, scoring in the ranking snooker this is not easy and can put a screeching halt even the most ardent fans of the game. List of tournaments, for participation in which points are added (rated tournaments) are not always permanent. Points for participating in the tournament and it rounds also varies from year to year. Names of tournaments are also changing. As a rule, it all depends on the company sponsored the competition.

The rating system was introduced in order to determine the seeded players at the World Championship. This happened in 1976. The original version of the calculation only takes into account the results shown players rated over the past three years at the World Championships. Points are awarded according to the following system: five points for a win at the world championships, four - for the finals, three points for the semi-finals, two - for participation in the quarterfinals and one point awarded players who have passed the 1/8 finals. World Number One was Ray Reardon. He won the world title three consecutive years. At that time he had 15 rating points.

This system was used until the end of the season 1982 - 1983 years. But due to the increase in the number of the tournament, it was decided to count the results of all competitions. After a few years in the ranking calculation came in performances at tournaments «Grand Prix» (earlier «Professional Players tournament»), «UK Championship» and «British Open», «Lada Classic» and «Jameson International».

The system of counting of points continued to change nearly every year, also tournaments on the basis of which the rating paid off changed.

World Championship is the only tournament where points are doubled. At the «UK Championship» points is calculated as more than a normal tournament - by 1,5 times. This applies only to professional players who participate in the Main Tour.

Statistics on May 6, 2019
World ranking
Updated after the Scottish Open
є Name Sum
1 1196500
2 1166500
3 1028000
4 842500
5 795500
6 752225
7 677000
8
welsh Kyren Wilson
561225
9 409500
10 403500
11
england Jack Lisowski
398600
12 394000
13 390500
14 375000
15
belgium Luca Brecel
350600
16 346000
17 308000
18
welsh Ryan Day
295000
19 282000
20
england Gary Wilson
242600
21
china Yan Bingtao
236000
22 228500
23
scotland Anthony McGill
223000
24
england Jimmy Robertson
222725
25
china Xiao Guodong
203100
26
china Lu Haotian
190500
27
england Tom Ford
186225
28 178725
29
china Li Hang
176000
30 173600
31
china Zhou Yuelong
169500
32 169000
PTC Ranking 2015-2016
є Name Sum
1 26625
2 25275
3 23175
4 22200
4 22200
6 20550

В своем понимании мировой снукерный рейтинг не особо отличается от рейтинга в других видах спорта. В целом он представляет собой метод ранжирования профессиональных снукеристов. Те игроки, которые расположены в верхней части рейтинга, как правило, сразу же посеяны в финальные части всевозможных соревнований. А вот игроки с более низким рейтингом обязаны проходить в финальные раунды турниров через сито квалификации. Таким образом, игрок с более высоким рейтингом имеет большую значимость и считается более сильным.

Однако, сам подсчет очков в снукере, дело не из легких и может поставить в ступор даже самых ярых фанатов игры. Турниры, за участие в которых начисляются очки (рейтинговые турниры), меняется чуть ли не каждый сезон. Баллы за участие в турнире и в его раундах тоже меняется от года в год. Непостоянными остаются даже названия самих турниров. Как правило, все это зависит от компании, спонсирующей соревнования.

Для того, чтобы определять сеянных игроков на Чемпионате Мира и была введена система рейтинга. Это случилось в 1976 году. Изначальный вариант подсчета рейтинга учитывал лишь показанные результаты игроков за последние три года на Чемпионатах Мира. Очки начислялись по следующей системе: пять баллов за победу на мировом первенстве, четыре - за выход в финал, три очка за выход в полуфинал, два — за участие в четвертьфинале и одного балла удостаивались игроки, прошедшие в 1/8 финала. Первым номером рейтинга стал Рэй Риардон. Он три года подряд завоевывал титул Чемпиона мира. На этот момент у него было 15 рейтинговых очков.

Эту систему использовали вплоть до окончания сезона 1982 – 1983 гг. Но в связи с ростом числа проводимых турниров было принято решение вести подсчет результатов всех соревнований. Через несколько лет в расчет рейтинга стали входить выступления на таких турнирах, как «Grand Prix» (ранее «Prоfessiоnаl Plаyers tоurnаment»), британские «UK Chаmpiоnship» и «Вritish Оpеn», «Lada Classic» и «Jameson International».

Система подсчета очков продолжала меняться чуть ли не каждый год, менялись и турниры, на основании которых рассчитывался рейтинг: на смену старым соревнованиям приходили новые.

Единственным турнирам где очки удваиваются является Чемпионат мира. На «UK Chаmpiоnship» очков начисляется также больше чем на обычном турнире - в 1,5 раза. Это касается только профессиональных игроков, которые принимают участие в Mаin Tоur.

Статистика на 23 октября 2017 года
Финансовый рейтинг
Рейтинг 2016-2017
Место Игрок Сумма
1 1316500
2 644950
3 594300
4 577775
5 437900
6 404900
7 391125
8 387475
9 386750
10 349862
11 340200
12
welsh Кайрен Уилсон
325875
13
belgium Лука Бресель
317650
14 310525
15
china Лян Веньбо
302175
16
scotland Энтони МакГилл
282350
17 257750
18
welsh Райан Дэй
251037
19 232225
20 211950
21 205100
22 203075
23 201250
24 190100
25 177575
26
welsh Майкл Уайт
162550
27
china Чжоу Юэлун
154000
28
england Энтони Хэмилтон
153925
29
england Бен Уолластон
146550
30 145950
31 136325
32 129400
Рейтинг PTC 2015-2016
Место Игрок Очки
1 26625
2 25275
3 23175
4 22200
4 22200
6 20550